Nontoxic substances that block the N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor, e.g., a morphinan such as dextromethorphan or dextrorphan, or that block a major intracellular consequence of NMDA-receptor activation, e.g., a ganglioside such as GM.sub.1 or GT.sub.1b, a phenothiazine such as trifluoperazine or a naphthalenesulfonamide such as N-(6-aminohexyl)-5-chloro-1-naphthalenesulfonamide, inhibit the development of tolerance to and/or dependence on addictive drugs, e.g., narcotic analgesics such as morphine, codeine, etc.


< Compositions of biochemical compounds involved in bioenergy metabolism of cells

< Thioether derivatives

> (E)-styryl sulfone anticancer agents

> Acetamidobenzamide compounds for neurodegenerative disorders

~ 00285